Show Menu

2016 World Championship of Poker Starts Saturday at Rio

2016 World Series of Poker, Photo Jane Furman
World Championship of Poker Begins Saturday at Rio

Players Begin with 50,000 Starting Chips for First Time

 SaturdaySundayMonday Starting Flights at 11amJuly 9-11, 2016

 WSOP Main Event Runs July 9-18, Plays Down to Final Table; ESPN to Televise

WHAT:      The 47th running of poker’s ultimate championship returns to the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino this Saturday, with thousands of players expected to enter the $10,000 buy-in event in hopes of claiming poker’s ultimate prize.

Officially, Event #68, the second-last event of what looks like another record-breaking World Series of Poker, has three starting flights: Saturday, July 9, Sunday, July 10 and Monday, July 11, all beginning at a new time this year – 11am, with play running until 11:45 am nightly.

Amateurs, poker pros, celebrities and poker enthusiasts from more than 85 different countries are expected to take to the felt.  Notable celebrities and sports stars are expected in the field.

The prize pool is expected to be more than $60 million with the winner walking away with a prize expected to exceed $7,000,000.

The World Series of Poker is the gaming industry’s premier event, each year drawing tens of thousands of poker enthusiasts from around the globe to Las Vegas to compete for millions in prize money and the game’s most coveted trophy – a World Series of Poker Champion’s Bracelet.

WHERE:   Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino Convention Center – Brasilia, Pavilion & Amazon Ballrooms

WHEN:     Saturday, July 9 at 11am – Flight “A”

  • Special Shuffle Up & Deal & Banner Unveiling Reining WSOP Player of the Year Mike Gorodinsky

Sunday, July 10 at 11am – Flight “B”

  • Special Shuffle Up & Deal – November Nine Final Table Alumni

                       Monday, July 11 at 11am – Flight “C”

  • Special Shuffle Up & Deal & Banner Unveiling – Reigning World Champion Joe McKeehen

WHO:        Poker pros, celebrities and Average Joe’s from more than 85 nations are expected.  Last year, 6,420 players participated, and the winner, Philly’s Joe McKeehen, collected $7.683 million.


0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes