Show Menu

Poker Hall of Fame 2024: Finalists Announced for Coveted Induction

Ten legendary figures of the poker world are in the running for the prestigious Poker Hall of Fame induction this month.

LAS VEGAS (July 2, 2024) – The World Series of Poker® (WSOP®) has officially revealed the ten finalists for the Poker Hall of Fame class of 2024. After a period of intense nominations, the list is now set, and one of these illustrious poker personalities will be inducted later this month. The selection process involves the living members of the Poker Hall of Fame, who will cast their votes to decide the inductee.

2024 Poker Hall of Fame Finalists:

  • Patrik Antonius
  • Josh Arieh
  • Barny Boatman
  • “Miami” John Cernuto
  • Ted Forrest
  • Kathy Liebert
  • Mike Matusow
  • Matt Savage
  • Isai Scheinberg
  • Bill Smith

Upcoming Event and Ceremony

The grand announcement of the inductee will take place during the WSOP Event No. 95: Poker Hall of Fame Bounty No-Limit Hold’em, which kicks off on Sunday, July 14. In this event, each participating Poker Hall of Famer will carry a bounty reflecting their induction year, adding a unique twist to the game. The 2024 inductee will be revealed at the event, followed by the unveiling of their Hall of Fame picture at the WSOP Hall of Fame Poker Room, inaugurated in 2023 at Horseshoe Las Vegas.

Additional Background and Insights

The Poker Hall of Fame, founded in 1979, has grown to become an integral part of the poker community, celebrating those who have significantly impacted the game. Harrah’s Entertainment acquired it in 2004 alongside the WSOP. The Hall of Fame exists virtually, but its influence is profound, with annual inductions now celebrated during the WSOP.

The finalists this year showcase a diverse array of poker talents and contributors. Patrik Antonius, known for his high-stakes prowess and online dominance, and Isai Scheinberg, the mind behind PokerStars, highlight the list. Kathy Liebert, a trailblazer for women in poker, and Matt Savage, a renowned tournament director, also stand out among the nominees.

Historical Highlights and Impact

Since its inception, the WSOP has grown exponentially, both in scale and prestige. In 2023 alone, the WSOP attracted over 214,000 participants from more than 114 countries, distributing more than $403 million in prize money. The event’s expansion includes WSOP Europe, WSOP Asia-Pacific, and WSOP International Circuit Series, cementing its global footprint.

The Poker Hall of Fame and WSOP’s growth parallel the increasing popularity of poker worldwide. The Hall of Fame not only honors players but also recognizes key contributors who have shaped the game’s landscape.

For more information on the Poker Hall of Fame and the latest updates, visit the WSOP website.

Disclaimer: The information presented in this article is based on the available data and current events around the time of publication, to the best of our staff research and knowledge. It is intended for educational and informational purposes only, and should not be construed as professional advice, financial advice, sports betting advice, or life advice. It is simply our best guess, something to add to your research. We at Las Vegas Top Picks do our best to get stories accurate, but sometimes mistakes and biases happen, and it is always good to double-check other sources and media outlets to confirm stories and factual details. The opinions expressed in this article do not necessarily reflect the overall opinion of Las Vegas Top Picks.

5.00 avg. rating (99% score) - 1 vote